Categories & Criteria

Read below for details on the categories and criteria for the Rory Peck Awards.

News Award, sponsored by Google News Initiative

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in the video coverage of a news event where the focus is on the immediacy of the story.

Duration: up to 10 minutes
*Agency feeds are accepted in this category. Portfolio submissions & camera rushes are not.

News Features Award

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in video news features that take a more in-depth look at a story, beyond the immediacy of the news.

Duration: up to 30 minutes

Sony Impact Award for Current Affairs, sponsored by Sony Europe B.V.

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists working in long-form current affairs video/film that examines a single issue, story or situation and has an impact on the viewer, policy or public awareness.

Duration: up to 60 minutes

Martin Adler Prize, supported by the Embassy of Sweden

This Award honours a local freelance journalist or field producer working in any medium, whose work with international media outlets has made a significant contribution to newsgathering, either through a single story or body of work. The aim of the prize is to highlight the dedication and talent of local freelancers who often work under challenging and difficult circumstances within their own country, and who go largely unrecognised. You may list up to a maximum of three examples of work for the entry.
*The Martin Adler Prize is a unique chance to give global recognition to someone you have commissioned, admired, worked with or relied upon. You cannot nominate or enter yourself for this category.


With thanks to our committed sponsors, without whom the Awards would not be possible.