2023 Winners & Finalists

We are delighted to announce the 2023 Rory Peck Awards finalists and winners, selected by our incredible judges from across the news industry.

News Award

Sponsored by   

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in the video coverage of a news event where the focus is on the immediacy of the story.

News finalist 2023

Jedida Andriamasy, Gaëlle Borgia, Caroline Brenière & Jeremy Martin


Hunger-stricken families in Madagascar forced to sell children
Commissioned by France 24

2023 Winners


Guillermo Galdos


Cooking for the Cartel: Inside Mexico’s Secret Fentanyl Labs
Commissioned by Channel 4 News


Omar Haj Kadour


Syrian Earthquake – February 2023
Commissioned by AFP

Alexander Ermochenko & Pavel Klimov

Honorable Mention

Alexander Ermochenko, Pavel Klimov & Sergei Pivovarov

One day in Rostov: The Prigozhin insurgency in Rostov
Commissioned by Reuters

News Features Award

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in video news features that take a more in-depth look at a story, beyond the immediacy of the news.


Shirley Abraham & Amit Madheshiya


The Great Abandonment: the extraordinary exodus of India’s migrant labourers
Commissioned by The Guardian

2023 Winners

raul jenin (1)

Raul Gallego Abellan


Taking up arms in Palestine or choosing a peaceful resistance
Commissioned by TV3 Catalonia

Sony Award Finalists 2001 - 2019 (1)

Victoria Arakelyan, Antoine Schirer & Jake Tacchi


Finding My Torturer
Commissioned by BBC

Honorable Mention

Guillermo Galdos & Rodrigo Galdos

Trekking the Darien Gap
Commissioned by Channel 4 News

Sony Impact Award
for Current Affairs

Sponsored by     Sony Logo

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists working in long-form current affairs video/film that examines a single issue, story or situation and has an impact on the viewer, policy or public awareness.


Robin Barnwell, Hilary Andersson, Serhiy Solodko & Taras Shumeyko


Mariupol: The People’s Story
Commissioned by BBC

Jess Kelly

Jessica Kelly


Under Poisoned Skies
Commissioned by BBC Arabic

2023 Winner


Jordan Bryon & Marcel Mettelsiefen


Children of the Taliban
Commissioned by Channel 4

Joshua Baker & Sara Obeidat

Honorable Mention

Joshua Baker & Sara Obeidat

The Shamima Begum Story
Commissioned by BBC2

Martin Adler Prize

Supported by     

The Martin Adler Prize honours a local freelance journalist or field producer whose work with international media outlets has made a significant contribution to newsgathering.


Ahmer Khan


Based in India
Nominated by The Guardian

2023 Winner

Screenshot 2023-10-09 at 10.22.42

Evelina Riabenko


Based in Ukraine
Nominated by The New York Times


Sanket Jain


Based in India
Nominated by People’s Archive of Rural India