Categories & Criteria

The Rory Peck Awards are the only awards in the world solely dedicated to recognising the work of freelance journalists and filmmakers worldwide.

The Rory Peck Awards highlight and celebrate the efforts of freelance journalists and filmmakers who bring us stories from around the world. Across four categories, the Awards recognise quality, creativity and impact of work, but also take into account skill, endeavour and journalistic integrity.

Awards Prizes
Winners across all categories: £1000 + trophy
Finalists across all categories: £500 + trophy

All finalists will have a chance to attend the Awards ceremony on Thursday 28th November and network with top industry professionals at the BFI Southbank in London.

Plus – the winner of the Sony Impact Award will receive a Sony camera and lens!

The deadline for entries for the 2024 Awards is Friday 5th July at 11.59pm BST.
Late submissions will not be accepted.


  • All entries must have been shot/produced/reported by a freelance journalist or filmmaker. For the purposes of the Rory Peck Awards, the term “freelance” is defined as someone who does not have a permanent or rolling contract or salary but may be on a retainer with one or more organisation(s), work to commission or be paid by the piece.
  • Entries must have first been broadcast/published between between 6th July 2023 and 5th July 2024 inclusive.
  • The News Award, News Features Award and the Sony Impact Award are open to video and film entries only. The Martin Adler Prize is open to journalists working in any medium, including print, radio, online, video and film.
  • All entries must be submitted and titled as first broadcast/published/screened.
  • All entries must have been broadcast/published/screened by a recognised professional television channel, streaming platform, broadcaster, publication, news agency, online news platform, film festival or other media outlet.
  • Entrants may submit as many entries as they wish, provided they meet the entry criteria, but a separate entry form and entry fee is required for each.

See the terms and conditions of entry here.


News Award

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in the video coverage of a news event where the focus is on the immediacy of the story. Agency feeds are accepted in this category. 

Duration: up to 10 minutes in length

Sponsored by     

News Features Award

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in video news features that take a more in-depth look at a story, beyond the immediacy of the news.

Duration: up to 30 minutes in length

Sony Impact Award

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists working in long-form current affairs video or film that examines a single issue, story or situation and has an impact on the viewer, policy or public awareness.

Duration: up to 60 minutes in length

Sponsored by
Sony Logo

Martin Adler Prize

This Award honours a local freelance journalist or field producer working in any medium, whose work with international and domestic media outlets has made a significant contribution to newsgathering. The aim is to recognise the dedication and talent of local freelancers reporting in or from their own country, who often work under challenging circumstances.

This is a unique chance to highlight the work of a freelancer you have commissioned, admired, worked with or relied upon, who has made a significant contribution to local and/or international news. You can also nominate yourself for this category, provided you submit a contactable professional reference (someone you have worked with and knows your work well).

Supported by
Embassy of Sweden London Logo


With thanks to our committed sponsors, without whom the Awards would not be possible.