القضاة 2022

يتم تقييم جوائز روري بيك من قبل لجان من المهنيين ذوي الخبرة العالية المستمدة من صناعة الإعلام الدولية.

جائزة الأخبار

رعايه   

كريستينا ماركر (الرئيس)

كبير محرري الأخبار الأجنبية، سكاي

ناتاشا دوف

محرر أول، بلومبرغ نيوز

جولييت هولييه-لاروس

نائب مدير الأخبار المسؤول عن الفيديو والصوت، وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

ماركو توليو بيريس

قائد مختبر أخبار Google، البرازيل

امتياز تياب

مراسل أجنبي، سي بي إس

جائزة الميزات الإخبارية

فيديريكو إيشر (الرئيس)

رئيس قسم الأخبار الأجنبية، أخبار القناة 4 / ITN

سارة جيلسبي

مدير الفيديو العالمي، وكالة أسوشيتد برس

أليكس كروجر

صحفي مستقل

ميناكشي رافي

المنتج التنفيذي لبرامج النقاش، الجزيرة

يان تيسييه

الرئيس العالمي للإنتاج، فيديو نيوز رويترز

جائزة سوني للتأثيرات للشؤون الجارية

برعاية سوني أوروبا B.V.

مونيكا غارنسي (الرئيسة)

منتج تنفيذي حائز على جائزة إيمي، بي بي سي

جيمس ليتش

رئيس فئة كاميرات الفيديو المتصلة و ProAudio للأخبار, سوني

بيتر موريمي

مخرج ومنتج وثائقي حائز على جوائز

جيس البحث

الرئيس التنفيذي، دوك سوسايتي

جائزة مارتن أدلر

مدعوم من     

يتم الحكم على هذه الجائزة من قبل أمناء صندوق روري بيك.

تيرا شوبارت (رئيسة)

منتج وكاتب مستقل

سانديا صوفي أرجنت

محامي وسائل الإعلام

مادهاف شيننابا

مدير تطوير النظام البيئي الإخباري، جوجل

سالي فيتون

مدير مشاريع التلفزيون والأفلام في Secret Compass

كلايف ميري

كبير المراسلين والمقدمين، بي بي سي نيوز

بن دي بير

محرر، القناة الرابعة للأخبار

ويليام ريف

مستشار مستقل ومراسل سابق لهيئة الإذاعة البريطانية

ريتشارد تولكين

مستشار مستقل، خبير مالي

مادهاف شيننابا

"يدعم الصندوق جزءًا من النظام البيئي للأخبار الذي يتم تجاهله في كثير من الأحيان - العاملين لحسابهم الخاص"..

شغل مادهاف منصب مدير تطوير النظام البيئي للأخبار في Google ، حيث عمل على الشراكات والتعاون بين Google وصناعة الأخبار. في عام 2015 ، أطلق مبادرة الأخبار الرقمية ، وهي إطار عمل Google الشامل للمشاركة مع النظام البيئي للأخبار الأوروبية. انضم إلى Google في عام 2010 للتركيز على أخبار ومجلات Google في مناطق أوروبا والشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا. عمل في صناعة الأخبار منذ عام 1994 - أولا في فريق إطلاق تلفزيون أسوشيتد برس ، وسنة في عمليات الاندماج والاستحواذ في يونايتد نيوز آند ميديا ، وقضى أكثر من 9 سنوات في بي بي سي نيوز ، ومؤخرا كرئيس للتنمية والحقوق.

"لقد عرفت، وأعجبت وتواضع من قبل، والعمل روري بيك الثقة قد فعلت من الأيام الأولى من مسيرتي في APTV. يدعم الصندوق جزءًا من النظام البيئي للأخبار الذي غالبًا ما يتم تجاهله - المستقلين - ومع ذلك فإن هؤلاء المستقلين الذين يلعبون دورًا لا يقدر بثمن في الأخبار التي نستهلكها جميعًا. ويشرفني أن أكون في مجلس الإدارة".

بن دي بير

صحفي تلفزيوني ومنتج تنفيذي / مؤسس، أفلام الطابق السفلي

"يغطي المستقلون القصص التي لا نستطيع أو لا نستطيعها - ولكن ينبغي عليهم في كثير من الأحيان ذلك."

كان بن عضوا في مجلس إدارة Rory Peck Trust منذ عام 2009. في عام 2022 ، أنشأ Basement Films لصنع تلفزيون كاشف وغير عادي ولا ينسى. كان المنتج التنفيذي لفيلم " لسما" المرشح لجائزة الأوسكار وقاد التحقيقات في الحرب الأهلية في سريلانكا ، والتي بلغت ذروتها في حقول القتل في سريلانكا.

أمضى 10 سنوات كمحرر لقناة 4 News ، وخلال هذه الفترة فاز البرنامج بعدد غير مسبوق من الجوائز ، بما في ذلك 4 BAFTAs و 5 جوائز Emmys الدولية وعشرات من RTS وجوائز أخرى لتغطيته للحرب في سوريا وفضائح مثل Cambridge Analytica Undercover. كما أثار غضب الحكومة بالتحقيقات في نفقات الانتخابات ، وحملة خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي ، واستبدال رئيس الوزراء بوريس جونسون بتمثال جليدي عندما رفض الظهور في أول نقاش حول المناخ للقادة السياسيين في البلاد.

"صندوق روري بيك هو منظمة حيوية تساعد أولئك الذين يرغبون في معرفة الحقيقة، ولكن الذين لا يتمتعون بحماية ودعم منظمة كبيرة. لا توجد منظمة أخرى تقوم بهذا العمل الحيوي".

ويليام ريف

مستشار مستقل / مراسل سابق لهيئة الإذاعة البريطانية

"منذ ظهور وباء الفيروس التاجي، يواجه الصحفيون المستقلون في جميع أنحاء العالم تحديات متزايدة تحتاج إلى معالجة على مستويات عديدة."

وويليام هو مراسل ومحرر ومنتج أجنبي سابق لبي بي سي، ويعمل الآن كمستشار مستقل يقدم المشورة للحكومات والمنظمات الأخرى حول كيفية تحسين اتصالاتها الاستراتيجية، خاصة في الأوقات الصعبة.  وشمل ذلك وضع وإدارة برامج تدريبية للصحفيين وللمسؤولين وغيرهم ممن يعملون مع وسائط الإعلام.  

يتمتع ويليام بأكثر من 30 عاما من الخبرة الواسعة في أفغانستان، حيث لا يزال الصحفيون المستقلون يواجهون مخاطر كبيرة. 

سانديا صوفي أرجنت

محامي وسائل الإعلام

"أنا ملتزم بضمان لجوء العاملين لحسابهم الخاص، على وجه الخصوص، إلى الدعم الذي يحتاجونه هم وأسرهم، والذي يتماشى إلى حد كبير مع صندوق روري بيك الاستئماني".

سانديا صوفي أرجنت محامية إعلامية ومدافعة متحمسة عن حرية التعبير. وهي تقدم المشورة بشكل روتيني للصحفيين وصانعي البرامج العاملين في تحقيقات الأخبار والشؤون الجارية، والتي غالبا ما تنطوي على تحدي القضايا القانونية والتنظيمية والأخلاقية.  

وقد تواصلت مع العديد من الصحفيين وصانعي البرامج الذين يعملون بلا كلل سعيا وراء قصص ذات أهمية عامة وغالبا ما يعرضون أنفسهم لمخاطر شخصية كبيرة وإجهاد في هذه العملية. وقد شاركت بشكل كبير في النظر في تقييمات المخاطر للسفر إلى بيئات معادية، وقد سلط ذلك الضوء على أهمية تهيئة بيئة أكثر أمانا للمشاركين في جمع الأخبار.

كلايف ميري

كبير المراسلين والمقدمين، بي بي سي نيوز

"تركة روري الدائمة من خلال الصندوق هو السماح للكثير من الناس بمواصلة العمل في أعمال غير مستقرة حيث لا توجد ضمانات للسلامة أو الدخل. لقد صادفت الكثير من الرجال والنساء في الميدان من أفغانستان إلى المكسيك، وليبيا إلى تيمور الشرقية، القادرين على متابعة حبهم ورغبتهم في محاولة المساعدة على إعلام العالم بشكل أفضل بما يجري، وربما حتى من خلال القيام بذلك يساعد على جعل العالم مكانًا أفضل، بسبب عمل صندوق روري بيك الاستئماني".

عمل كلايف ميري في هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية لأكثر من 30 عامًا. مراسل أجنبي مقره في طوكيو ولوس أنجلوس وجوهانسبرغ وسنغافورة وواشنطن وباريس وبروكسل، عاد إلى لندن في عام 2010 لبث برامج بي بي سي نيوز، فضلا عن نشر القصص الرئيسية في جميع أنحاء العالم. خلال حرب العراق عام 2003، كان جزءا لا يتجزأ من مشاة البحرية الملكية من 40 كوماندو. كلايف هو الفائز بالعديد من الاستشهادات والجوائز، بما في ذلك الحورية الذهبية من مونتي كارلو، وجمعية التلفزيون الملكي لتغطية الحرب في اليمن، وجائزة ديفيد بلوم وجائزة بيبودي. وقد تم تكريم عمله من قبل جمعية الصحافة الأجنبية، نادي الصحافة في لندن، مرتين من قبل جوائز المراسلين الحربيين في سباق الجائزة الكبرى بايو، وبافتا وإيمي.

في عام 2021، منحت الجمعية الملكية للتلفزيون كلايف جائزة صحفي التلفزيون للعام وجائزة مقدم الشبكة للعام.

تيرا شوبارت

رئيس الصندوق / منتج وكاتب مستقل

تيا كان في مجلس إدارة صندوق روري بيك منذ عام 2000. التقت روري بيك لأول مرة في بوخارست خلال الثورة الرومانية في عام 1989.

عملت تيرا كمنتج للأخبار والوثائق ية لشبكات التلفزيون البريطانية والكندية والأمريكية، ولتلفزيون فرونتلاين نيوز، حيث غطت القصص في أكثر من 50 دولة. في الآونة الأخيرة، عملت تيرا على نطاق واسع في شرق أفريقيا. شاركت في تأليف كتاب رفع الحجاب: الحياة في إيران الثورية وكتبت للصحافة البريطانية والأمريكية. Tira كتب أيضا وأنتج سلسلة من الكوميديا بي بي سي عن الصحفيين, اتخاذ Flak.

سالي فيتون

مخرج مشاريع تلفزيونية وسينمائية ، بوصلة سرية

"يمكن اعتبار السلامة مصدر إزعاج عند التركيز على الافتتاحية ، لكن التخطيط الجيد لا يضيع أبدا. يجب أن تكون السلامة والأمن مجرد جزء لا يتجزأ من العملية وأن يتم تطبيقها على جميع أفراد الطاقم".

تقدم سالي المشورة والدعم في مجال السلامة والأمن وإدارة المخاطر عبر مجموعة واسعة من الوسائط بتكليف من كبار المذيعين والقائمين بالبث - بدءا من جمع الأخبار وتلفزيون الواقع إلى الأفلام الوثائقية عن التاريخ الطبيعي. انضمت إلى Secret Compass من بي بي سي ، حيث كانت مستشارة بي بي سي عالية المخاطر للشؤون الجارية والخدمة العالمية.

سالي هي مدافعة قوية عن سلامة وسائل الإعلام وإدارة المخاطر. كانت سابقا عضوا في مجلس إدارة تحالف ACOS وتحاضر دوليا حول سلامة الصحفيين.  قامت بتصميم وتقديم دورة بي بي سي "إدارة عمليات النشر عالية المخاطر" لكبار موظفي التحرير. تتمتع سالي بخلفية قوية في إدارة الأزمات والكوارث كضابط في الجيش البريطاني ومستشار إعلامي ومحترف أمني معتمد ، إلى جانب خبرة في جولات عملياتية عسكرية متعددة.

ريتشارد تولكين

مستشار مستقل / خبير مالي

يتمتع ريتشارد باهتمام طويل الأمد بالصحافة ويجلب خبرة كبيرة في الخدمات المالية للشركات إلى مجلس الإدارة. بدأ حياته المهنية في وزارة الخزانة البريطانية ، بما في ذلك 2.5 سنة كمساعد السكرتير الخاص لوزير الخزانة ، جيفري هاو. انتقل إلى تمويل الشركات حيث عمل كمدير في مورغان غرينفيل ، قبل أن ينتقل إلى HSBC ، حيث كان العضو المنتدب وبعد ذلك المدير التنفيذي لبنك ماكواري.

شغل ريتشارد أيضا منصب المدير غير التنفيذي الأول لمجموعة Parkwood Group plc و Share plc حتى عام 2020. بعد 25 عاما من العمل بدوام كامل في مجال الخدمات المصرفية الاستثمارية ، أصبح شاهدا خبيرا مستقلا في التحكيم والتقاضي وقدم المشورة في العديد من القضايا في المملكة المتحدة ودوليا. يعمل ريتشارد أيضا كأمين ورئيس مجلس إدارة Stoke Mandeville Spinal Research وأمين صندوق كنيسة سانت جون ، بولدر.

جيس البحث

المؤسس المشارك والرئيس التنفيذي ل Doc Society ، الذي يدعم التأثير الاجتماعي والسياسي والثقافي لصانعي الأفلام الوثائقية المستقلين في جميع أنحاء العالم.  تعمل Doc Society مع العديد من الأفلام عالية الخطورة (CITIZENFOUR ، مرحبا بك في الشيشان ، الحروب القذرة ، Softie) وأنشأت مورد صانعي الأفلام الوثائقية المستقلين Safe+Secure.film.   

وهي أيضا رئيسة IPPR ، وهي مؤسسة فكرية تقدمية رائدة في المملكة المتحدة تعمل على سياسة العدالة الاقتصادية والمناخية.  عضو مجلس إدارة Kickstarter ، شركة المنفعة العامة وقائد التمويل الجماعي.  أمين MSI Reproductive Choices ، أكبر مزود للإجهاض وتنظيم الأسرة في العالم. ماجستير في إدارة الأعمال من كلية كاس للأعمال. مرة واحدة محرر التكليف في القناة 4.

 

ناتاشا دوف

ناتاشا هي محررة أولى في بلومبرغ نيوز في لندن، وهي مسؤولة عن التكليف وتحرير المقالات والعمل مع المراسلين في جميع أنحاء أوروبا لتغطية أكبر القصص الإخبارية في اليوم. وتشمل خبرتها عقدا من العمل الصحفي على الأرض من روسيا، كان آخرها في مكتب بلومبرغ في موسكو حتى عام 2021. وخلال تلك الفترة، غطت التوترات الاقتصادية المتفاقمة بين روسيا والغرب وتحركات الكرملين لحماية نفسه من التهديد بالعقوبات بينما كان يستعد للحرب. 

فيديريكو إيشر

فيديريكو صحفي إيطالي ورئيس الأخبار الأجنبية في القناة 4 نيوز. عمل هناك لأكثر من عقد من الزمان كمحرر برنامج ومنتج للشؤون الخارجية وكمنتج سلسلة من The Fourcast ، القناة 4 News Podcast.   

خلال الفترة التي قضاها في القناة 4 الإخبارية ، أنتج سلسلة التقارير الحائزة على جوائز "داخل حلب" مع المخرج السوري وعد الخطيب ، وقاد التغطية الحائزة على جائزة بافتا لهجوم باتاكلان في عام 2015 وأنتج تغطية من أوروبا والشرق الأوسط والأمريكتين. كان سابقا منتجا أول مقره في بوينس آيرس وفي مسقط رأسه روما لوكالة أسوشيتد برس للأخبار التلفزيونية. 

بيتر موريمي

بيتر هو مخرج وثائقي/منتج وثائقي كيني حائز على العديد من الجوائز يركز على القضايا الاجتماعية الصعبة. يروي فيلمه الوثائقي الطويل "أنا صامويل" (2020) قصة كفاح رجل كيني مثلي الجنس من أجل القبول، وقد عرض في أكثر من عشرة مهرجانات سينمائية، بما في ذلك "هوت دوكس" و"بي إف آي" و"هيومن رايتس ووتش".

قاد موريمي العديد من التحقيقات لصالح بي بي سي أفريقيا آي بما في ذلك The Baby Stealers (2020) ، الذي كشف عن نقابة للاتجار بالأطفال وأدى إلى اعتقالات متعددة ، وقصص الانتحار (2019) ، التي فاز عنها بجائزة روري بيك للميزات الإخبارية. وقد أنتج أفلاما في 30 دولة أفريقية لوسائل الإعلام الرئيسية بما في ذلك قناة الجزيرة والقناة 4 الإخبارية. وكان أول فوز كبير له هو جائزة سي إن إن أفريقيا للصحفي للعام عن فيلمه الحميم عن تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية للإناث بين مجتمعه في كوريا، المشي إلى الأنوثة (2004).

كريستينا ماركر

كريستينا هي محررة أخبار أجنبية أولى في سكاي نيوز، وهي القناة الإخبارية التابعة للجمعية التلفزيونية الملكية لهذا العام. في عام 2022 ، كان تركيزها الرئيسي على إدارة المحتوى الاستثنائي من الفرق في أوكرانيا.

وهي صحفية دنماركية فلبينية، وتقيم بشكل رئيسي في لندن منذ أكثر من عشرين عاما.

قبل انضمامها إلى سكاي، ساعدت كريستينا في إعداد وإعادة هيكلة عمليات جمع الأخبار في NBC News و Vice News و Euronews. كما عملت محررة أخبار ومنتجة في قناة الجزيرة الإنجليزية في لندن والدوحة.

ساعدت كريستينا في إنتاج الفيلم الوثائقي الحائز على جوائز 10 DAYS AT SEA: THE REAL STORY OF THE AQUARIUS. يروي الفيلم قصة سفينة الإنقاذ أكواريوس، التي أصبحت عالقة بشكل غير متوقع في نزاع أوروبا المرير حول الهجرة في عام 2018.

جولييت هولييه-لاروس، مديرة الفيديو العالمية وكالة فرانس برس.

تخرجت جولييت هولييه-لاروس من كلية الصحافة الفرنسية وحصلت على درجة البكالوريوس في التاريخ، وانضمت إلى وكالة الأنباء الفرنسية في عام 1988. بدأت كمراسلة في مرسيليا ، ثم نيس ، وانتقلت إلى خدمة الصوت ، وعملت بعد ذلك في مكتب الأخبار العامة وفي مكتب إفريقيا ، حيث غطت قصصا مثل أعقاب اتفاقية دايتون في البوسنة ، أو أزمة جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية أو حملة السلام الأخضر ضد التجارب النووية الفرنسية في موروروا.

انتقلت إلى نيروبي في عام 1998 ، وكانت في البداية مراسلة ثم محررة أخبار مسؤولة عن تغطية شرق إفريقيا ومنطقة البحيرات العظمى ، حيث غطت من بين الأخبار العاجلة الهجوم الإرهابي على السفارة الأمريكية في نيروبي. في وقت لاحق تم تعيينها كمحررة أخبار في مكتب أوروبا ، ورئيسة الرسوم البيانية ومنسق الوسائط المتعددة الدولي ، قبل أن تصبح نائبة لمدير الأخبار العالمية في يونيو 2009. كانت مديرة منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية من يوليو 2012 إلى أبريل 2017 ، حيث أشرفت على تغطية كأس العالم في البرازيل وأولمبياد ريو ، وأزمة فنزويلا ، ووفاة فيدل كاسترو وفضيحة الفساد في البرازيل ، بالإضافة إلى تطوير تغطية فيديو عالية الجودة لأمريكا اللاتينية.

وهي حاليا مديرة الفيديو العالمية.

أليكس كروجر، صحفي مستقل

أليكس صحفي مستقل ومدير تحرير دولي سابق لصحيفة نيو ستيتسمان. في السابق كانت في بي بي سي ، حيث كانت على المكتب العالمي للموقع الإخباري. وقد عملت مراسلة لهيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) من جميع أنحاء أوروبا، بما في ذلك كمراسلة في بروكسل ومراسلة في البوسنة بعد الحرب. كانت محررة إطلاق الموقع الإخباري باللغة الصربية التابع لهيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) وكانت أيضا جزءا من فريق إطلاق تلفزيون بي بي سي الفارسي ، حيث عملت مع مراسلين في كابول وواشنطن العاصمة ودوشانبي.

يان تيسير، الرئيس العالمي للإنتاج، فيديو نيوز رويترز

ويشغل يان تيسييه، وهو مراسل سابق للمطبوعات والتلفزيون، حاليا منصب الرئيس العالمي للإنتاج في رويترز حيث يساعد في توجيه تغطية الفيديو والمحتوى الخاص بوكالة الأنباء الدولية.

خلال حياته المهنية ، عمل يان في بروكسل وباريس وإيطاليا والشرق الأوسط وطوكيو وسافر على نطاق واسع لتغطية القصص الإخبارية الرئيسية التي حددت العقدين الماضيين.

Judges 2022

The Rory Peck Awards are judged by panels of highly experienced professionals drawn from the international media industry.

News Award

Sponsored by   

Christina Marker (Chair)

Senior Foreign News Editor, Sky

Natasha Doff

Senior Editor, Bloomberg News

Juliette Hollier-Larousse

Deputy News Director in charge of Video and Audio, AFP

Marco Tulio Pires

Google News Lab Lead, Brazil

Imtiaz Tyab

Foreign Correspondent, CBS

News Features Award

Federico Escher (Chair)

Head of Foreign News, Channel 4 news / ITN

Sara Gillesby

Director of Global Video, The Associated Press

Alix Kroeger

Freelance Journalist

Meenakshi Ravi

Executive Producer of Discussion Programs, Al Jazeera

Yann Tessier

Global Head of Output, Video News Reuters

Sony Impact Award for Current Affairs

Sponsored by Sony Europe B.V.

Monica Garnsey (Chair)

Emmy-Award winning Executive Producer, BBC

James Leach

Category Head for Connected Camcorders & ProAudio for News, Sony

Peter Murimi

Award winning documentary director & producer

Jess Search

Chief Executive, Doc Society

Martin Adler Prize

Supported by     

This Award is judged by the Trustees of the Rory Peck Trust.

Tira Shubart (Chair)

Freelance Producer and Writer

Sandhiya Sophie Argent

Media Lawyer

Madhav Chinnappa

Director of News Ecosystem Development, Google

Sally Fitton

Director TV and Film projects at Secret Compass

Clive Myrie

Chief Correspondent & Presenter, BBC News

Ben de Pear

Editor, Channel 4 News

William Reeve

Independent consultant & former BBC correspondent

Richard Tolkien

Independent adviser, Finance Expert

Madhav Chinnappa

Director of News Ecosystem Development, Google

“The Trust supports a part of the news ecosystem that often gets overlooked – freelancers.”

Madhav is Google’s Director of News Ecosystem Development, working on partnerships and collaborations between Google and the news industry. In 2015, he launched the Digital News Initiative, which is Google’s overarching framework for engagement with the European news ecosystem. He joined Google in 2010 to focus on Google News & Magazines in the EMEA regions. He has worked in the news industry since 1994 – first in the launch team of Associated Press Television, a year in M&A at United News & Media, and spent over 9 years at BBC News, latterly as Head of Development & Rights.

“I have known, and been impressed and humbled by, the work the Rory Peck Trust has done from the early days of my career at APTV. The Trust supports a part of the news ecosystem that often gets overlooked – freelancers – and yet it is these self same freelancers who play an invaluable role in the news that we all consume. I am honoured to be on the Board.”

Ben de Pear

Editor, Channel 4 News

“Freelancers cover the stories we can’t or don’t – but often should.”

Ben has been on the Board of the Rory Peck Trust since 2009. He became Editor of Channel 4 News in August 2012. Before that, he was Head of Foreign News at Channel 4 News, following a decade working mostly in hostile environments as a foreign producer for ITN and Sky News. Ben was based in Johannesburg for Sky from 2000-2005 and worked all over Africa, as well as across the Middle East, Asia and Europe. In 1999, he produced Sky’s RTS Award-winning coverage of Kosovo, and was their Producer in Baghdad for the US-led invasion in 2003. In 2004, he obtained the only British TV interview with President Robert Mugabe this century. At Channel 4 News, he has helped win over a dozen RTS Awards, a BAFTA and 4 Amnesty International Awards for Television.

“The Rory Peck Trust is a vital organisation helping those who want to find out the truth, but who don’t have the protection and support of a big organisation. There is no other organisation out there doing this vital work.”

William Reeve

Independent consultant
Former BBC correspondent

“Since the advent of the coronavirus pandemic, freelance journalists around the world face increasing challenges which need addressing on many levels.”

William Reeve is a former BBC foreign correspondent, editor and producer, who now works as an independent consultant advising governments and other organisations on how to optimise their strategic communications, especially at challenging times.  This has included setting up and managing training programmes for journalists and for officials and others who need to work with the media.  

William has more than 30 years of broad experience within Afghanistan, where freelance journalists continue to face considerable danger, but where the Afghan media in particular persist in defiantly guarding their independence and holding the authorities to account. 

Sandhiya Sophie Argent

Media Lawyer

“I am committed to ensuring that freelancers, in particular, have recourse to the support that they and their families need, which is very much in alignment with the Rory Peck Trust.”

Sandhiya Sophie Argent is a Media Lawyer and a passionate advocate for freedom of expression. She routinely advises journalists and programme-makers working on the News and current affairs investigations, which often involve challenging legal, regulatory and ethical issues.  

She has come into contact with many journalists and programme-makers who work tirelessly in pursuit of stories of public interest and often put themselves at great personal risk and stress in the process. She has been heavily involved in considering risk assessments for travel to hostile environments and this has further highlighted the importance of creating a safer environment for those involved in newsgathering.

Clive Myrie

Chief Correspondent & Presenter, BBC News

“Rory’s lasting legacy through the Trust has been to allow so many people to continue to work in a precarious business where there are no guarantees for safety or income. I’ve come across so many men and women in the field from Afghanistan to Mexico, Libya to East Timor, who are able to pursue their love and desire to try to help better inform the world of what’s going on, and by doing so perhaps even help make the world a better place, because of the work of the Rory Peck Trust.”

Clive Myrie has worked for the BBC for more than 30 years. A foreign correspondent based in Tokyo, Los Angeles, Johannesburg, Singapore, Washington, Paris and Brussels, he returned to London in 2010 to anchor BBC News programmes, as well as deploy to major stories around the world. During the 2003 Iraq War, he was embedded with Royal Marines from 40 Commando. Clive is the winner of numerous citations and awards, including a Golden Nymph from Monte Carlo, the Royal Television Society for coverage of the war in Yemen, the David Bloom Award and a Peabody Award. His work has been recognised by the Foreign Press Association, London Press Club, twice by the Prix Bayeux War Correspondents Awards, BAFTA and the Emmys.

In 2021, the Royal Television Society awarded Clive the Television Journalist of the Year Award and the Network Presenter of the Year Award.

Tira Shubart

Chair of the Trust

Freelance Producer and Writer

Tira has been on the Board of The Rory Peck Trust since 2000. She first met Rory Peck in Bucharest during the Romanian Revolution in 1989.

Tira has worked as a news and documentary producer for British, Canadian and American television networks, and for Frontline News Television, covering stories in over 50 countries. Recently, Tira has worked extensively in East Africa. She co-authored the book Lifting the Veil: Life in Revolutionary Iran and has written for the UK and US press. Tira also wrote and produced a BBC comedy series about journalists, Taking the Flak.

“Within a few hours of first meeting Rory, we were caught in several street battles, had commandeered the car of a fleeing Securitate officer after we fed our video to London, and then watched the National Library burn to the ground. By the end of that memorable week, Rory seemed to know everyone in Bucharest and all doors opened for him. His career ended in Moscow in 1993, leaving a large Rory-shaped hole in our lives.”

Sally Fitton

Director TV and Film projects at Secret Compass

‘Safety can be considered an inconvenience when focussing on the editorial, but good planning is never wasted. Safety and security should be just part and parcel of the process and be applied to all members of the crew’.

Sally Fitton is Director TV and Film projects at Secret Compass, where she provides safety, security and risk management advice and support across a wide range of media commissioned by major broadcasters and streamers; ranging from newsgathering, reality TV to natural history documentaries.   Sally joined Secret Compass from the BBC where she was the BBC High Risk Advisor for Current Affairs and the World Service.

Sally is a keen advocate of media safety and risk management, she was previously on the Board of Directors for ACOS Alliance for several years and lectures internationally on journalist safety.  She designed and delivered the BBC’s ‘Managing High Risk Deployments’ course for senior editorial staff. Sally has a deep background in crisis and disaster management as a British army officer, media advisor and Chartered Security Professional along with experience of multiple military operational tours.

Richard Tolkien

Richard Tolkien has a long-standing interest in journalism and joins the Board of Trustees bringing great expertise in corporate financial services and as an independent legal advisor. Richard started his career at HM Treasury, including 2.5 years as Assistant Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer, Geoffrey Howe. Richard went onto corporate finance where he worked as a Director with Morgan Grenfell, before moving to HSBC where he was Managing Director and later an Executive Director of Macquarie Bank. Richard was also senior non-executive director of the Parkwood Group plc and of Share plc until 2020. After 25 very full-time years of investment banking, Richard became an independent expert witness in arbitrations and litigation and has advised on numerous cases in the UK and internationally. Richard also serves as a Trustee and the Chairman of Stoke Mandeville Spinal Research and as the Treasurer of St John’s Church, Boldre.

Jess Search

Co-founder and Chief Executive of Doc Society, supporting the social, political and cultural impact of independent documentary filmmakers around the world.  Doc Society works with many high risk films (CITIZENFOUR, Welcome to Chechnya, Dirty Wars, Softie) and created the independent documentary filmmakers resource Safe+Secure.film.   

She is also chair of IPPR, the leading progressive think tank in the UK working on economic and climate justice policy.  Board member of Kickstarter, Public Benefit Corporation and crowdfunding leader.  Trustee of MSI Reproductive Choices, the world’s largest abortion and family planning provider. MBA from Cass Business School. Once a Commissioning Editor at Channel 4.

 

Natasha Doff

Natasha is a Senior Editor at Bloomberg News in London, responsible for commissioning and editing features and working with reporters across Europe to cover the biggest news stories of the day. Her experience includes a decade of reporting on the ground from Russia, most recently in Bloomberg’s Moscow bureau until 2021. During that time she covered the deepening economic tensions between Russia and the West and the Kremlin’s moves to safeguard itself from the threat of sanctions as it prepared for war. 

James Leach

James has been at Sony for over 15 years and is now responsible as Category Head for Camcorders and Professional Audio within the News & Broadcast area, focusing heavily on Professional content acquisition & solutions. James works with hero products such as the Sony FX9, Z280 and Z750 which are predominantly used by a large number of journalists to capture News content from all over the world.

Federico Escher

Federico is an Italian Journalist who is the Head of Foreign News at Channel 4 News. He has worked there for over a decade as a Programme Editor, a Foreign Affairs producer and as Series Producer of The Fourcast, Channel 4 News Podcast.   

In his time at Channel 4 News he produced the award winning series of reports “Inside Aleppo” with the Syrian Film-Maker Waad Al-Kateab, led the Bafta winning coverage of the Bataclan attack in 2015 and produced coverage from Europe, the Middle-East and the Americas. He was previously a Senior Producer based in Buenos Aires and in his hometown Rome for Associated Press Television News. 

Peter Murimi

Peter is a multiple award-winning Kenyan documentary director/producer focusing on hard-hitting social issues. His feature-length documentary I Am Samuel (2020) tells the story of a gay Kenyan man’s struggle for acceptance and has been shown at more than a dozen film festivals, including Hot Docs, BFI and Human Rights Watch.

Murimi has led numerous investigations for BBC Africa Eye including The Baby Stealers (2020), which exposed a child trafficking syndicate and led to multiple arrests, and Suicide Stories (2019), for which he won the Rory Peck News Features Award. He has made films in 30 African countries for major media outlets including Al Jazeera and Channel 4 News. His first major win was the CNN Africa Journalist of the Year Award for his intimate film about Female Genital Mutilation among his Kuria community, Walk to Womanhood (2004).

Christina Marker

Christina is a Senior Foreign News Editor at Sky News, the Royal Television Society News Channel of the Year. In 2022, her main focus has been managing the extraordinary content from the teams in Ukraine.

A Danish-Filipino journalist, she has mainly been based in London for over twenty years.

Before joining Sky, Christina helped set up and restructure newsgathering operations at NBC News, Vice News and Euronews. She also worked as a news editor and producer at Al Jazeera English in London and Doha.

Christina helped produce the award-winning documentary 10 DAYS AT SEA: The Real Story of the Aquarius. The film tells the story of the rescue vessel the Aquarius, which became unexpectedly caught up in Europe’s bitter dispute over migration in 2018.

Juliette Hollier-Larousse, Global Video Director AFP.

A graduate of France’s CFJ Journalism School and with a Bachelor’s degree in history, Juliette Hollier-Larousse joined Agence France Presse in 1988. She began as a reporter in Marseille, then Nice, shifted to the Audio Service, and subsequently worked on the General News Desk and on the Africa Desk, covering stories like the aftermath of the Dayton agreement in Bosnia, the DR Congo crisis or the Greenpeace campaign against French nuclear tests in Mururoa.

Moving to Nairobi in 1998, she was first a reporter and then News Editor in charge of covering East Africa and the Great Lakes region, covering among other breaking news the terror attack on the American embassy in Nairobi. Later she was appointed as news editor of the Europe Desk, head of Infographics and International Multimedia Coordinator, before becoming deputy to the Global News Director in June 2009. She was Director of the Latin American region from July 2012 to April 2017, overseeing the coverage of the World Cup in Brazil and the Rio Olympics, the Venezuela crisis, the death of Fidel Castro and the corruption scandal in Brazil, as well as the development of a high quality video coverage of Latin America.

She is currently the Global Video Director.

Alix Kroeger, Freelance Journalist

Alix is a freelance journalist and former international managing editor of the New Statesman. Previously she was at the BBC, where she was on the world desk of the news website. She has reported for the BBC from across Europe, including as a reporter in Brussels and a stringer in post-war Bosnia. She was the launch editor for the BBC’s Serbian-language news website and was also part of the launch team for BBC Persian TV, working with correspondents in Kabul, Washington DC and Dushanbe.

Yann Tessier, Global Head of Output, Video News Reuters

A former print and television correspondent, Yann Tessier is currently Global Head of Output at Reuters where he helps direct the international news agency’s video coverage and content.

During his career, Yann has worked in Brussels, Paris, Italy, the Mideast and Tokyo and travelled extensively covering the major news stories that have defined the last couple of decades.