المخاطر النفسية

النظر في صحتك العقلية.

وكثيرا ما يكون الصحفيون شهودا في الخطوط الأمامية على أنواع كثيرة من الأحداث أو الصدمات أو الكوارث الطبيعية أو الصراعات أو الأعمال العدائية. أنت غير متأكد من ما قد تراه أو تسمعه، ومن قد تقابله بشهادات قوية وكيف يمكن أن يؤثر ذلك عليك أو على فريقك أو على المساهمين.  

وقد أدى وباء "COVID" العالمي إلى مخاطر مادية ونفسية إضافية على التقارير، ولا ينبغي التقليل من شأن تأثير هذه المخاطر على الصحفيين.

يمكن أن يسبب تغطية مثل هذه القصص الإجهاد أو القلق أو الإرهاق أو اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة (PTSD). جنبا إلى جنب مع الطبيعة الصعبة والصعبة للمهنة، تتأثر أو تصدم بما واجهته وتحتاج إلى دعم ليس علامة على الضعف.  

من المهم التفكير في المخاطر النفسية المحتملة للمشروع قبل البدء في إعداد التقارير، كجزء من تقييم المخاطر.  إذا كان من الممكن أن أي عنصر من عناصر المشروع قد يسبب آثار نفسية سلبية أو صدمة، تأكد من تحديد تفاصيل المخاطر، وشدة واحتمالات ذلك، وكيف يمكن التقليل منه. تأكد من استجوابك بعد كل مهمة للتعرف على علامات القلق أو الاكتئاب أو اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة والتعرف على الوقت الذي تحتاج فيه إلى طلب المساعدة لنفسك أو فريقك أو المساهمين.

تذكر أن تفكر على وجه التحديد في كيفية تأثير المخاطر الرقمية على الأمن النفسي ، حيث يمكن أن يأتي سوء المعاملة والتحرش عبر الإنترنت في أشكال عديدة ويسبب ضررًا حقيقيًا لصحتك العقلية.

تأكد من البحث والتفصيل أي مساعدة نفسية متاحة أثناء وبعد الإبلاغ والبث/ النشر. وبهذه الطريقة يمكنك طلب المساعدة قبل أن تصبح مشكلة.

العلاج

هناك أشكال مختلفة من العلاج التي يمكن أن تساعدك على التعامل مع التحديات الصحية العقلية. الأكثر شيوعا هي: العلاج السلوكي المعرفي (CBT) والعلاج النفسي. قد يكون الوصول إلى هذه متاحة على الخدمة الصحية الوطنية الخاصة بك أو يمكنك دفع ثمن خدمة خاصة.

إذا لم تكن متأكداً من الذي هو حق واحد بالنسبة لك، القيام ببعض البحوث في العلاجات المختلفة على العرض واختيار واحد لبدء. يمكنك دائماً تغيير رأيك بعد بضع جلسات. لا تردع – لا يوجد حل سريع, ولكن العلاج سوف يساعد بالتأكيد على المدى الطويل.

موارد الصحة النفسية

تطبيقات مفيدة

موارد الصحة العقلية المرتبطة بـ COVID

Psychological Risk

Consider your mental health.

Journalists are often front-line witnesses to many types of events, trauma, natural disasters, conflict or hostilities. You are never sure of what you may see or hear, who you may meet with powerful testimonies and how that may impact you, your team or your contributors.  

The global COVID pandemic has brought additional physical and psychological risks to reporting, and the impact of those should not be underestimated for journalists.

Covering such stories can cause stress, anxiety, burnout or post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Combined with the challenging and demanding nature of the profession, being affected or traumatised by what you experience and needing support is not a sign of weakness.  

It’s important to think through the potential psychological risks of a project before starting reporting, as part of your risk assessment.  If it is possible that any element of the project may cause adverse psychological effects or trauma, be sure to outline details of the risk, the potential severity and likelihood of it and how it can be minimised. Make sure you debrief after each assignment to recognise the signs of anxiety, depression or PTSD and recognise when you need to ask for help for yourself, your team or contributors.

Remember to specifically think about how digital risks can impact psychological security, as online abuse and harassment can come in many forms and cause real harm to your mental health.

Be sure to research and detail any psychological help available during and after reporting and broadcast/publication. This way you can ask for help before it becomes a problem.

Therapy

There are various forms of therapy that can help you deal with mental health challenges. The most common are: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) and Psychotherapy. Access to these may be available on your national health service or you can pay for a private service.

If you are not sure which is the right one for you, do some research into the different therapies on offer and choose one to start. You can always change your mind after a few sessions. Don’t be deterred – there is no quick fix, but therapy will definitely help in the long term.