Meet this year’s Rory Peck Awards hosts: Nima Elbagir and Alex Thomson

The Rory Peck Trust is proud to announce this year’s Awards hosts: Nima Elbagir, Senior International Correspondent at CNN and Alex Thomson, Chief Correspondent at Channel 4 News.

This year’s Awards promise to be an evening celebrating another excellent year of journalism, led by two well-renowned journalists: Nima Elbagir and Alex Thomson.

Nima is an award-winning journalist who recently received the prestigious Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Award in the Investigative category for reporting on human rights abuses, and the Courage in Journalism Award for female journalists reporting from some of the world’s most dangerous regions.

Alex is the longest-serving on-screen journalist on C4 News since the channel began. In more than 25 years, he’s covered over 20 wars, led major investigations and continues to front the programme from around the world. His journalism has won numerous awards, including several BAFTAs and EMMYs.

The Rory Peck Awards take place on the evening of Thursday 7th November at the BFI Southbank in London.

Every year, the Rory Peck Awards recognise extraordinary films, reports and footage, showcasing excellence in coverage produced by freelancers and why they critically need our ​support.​ Join Nima and Alex in celebrating the work and commitment of freelance journalists and filmmakers worldwide.

Buy your tickets here.