Enter the 25th annual Rory Peck Awards

The Rory Peck Awards 2020 are NOW OPEN for entries!

For 25 years, the Rory Peck Awards has been celebrating the work of freelance journalists working in news and current affairs worldwide. These are the freelance reporters, filmmakers, photojournalists and camera operators who play a vital role in international newsgathering – and in keeping independent journalism alive.

The Awards are now open for entries, with an entry deadline of Monday 10th August. See the full entry criteria and descriptions of the Award categories here.

The Rory Peck Awards’ four categories recognise quality and impact of work, but also take into account individual endeavour and journalistic integrity. They are:

  • News Award, sponsored by Google
    This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in the video coverage of a news event where the focus is on the immediacy of the story.
    Duration: up to a maximum of 10 minutes
    *Broadcast news packages & agency feeds are accepted in this category. Portfolio submissions & camera rushes are not.
  • News Features Award
    This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in video news features that take a more in-depth look at a story, beyond the immediacy of the news.
    Duration: up to a maximum of 30 minutes
  • Sony Impact Award for Current Affairs
    This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists working in long-form current affairs video/film that examines a single issue, story or situation and has an impact on the viewer, policy or public awareness.
    Duration: up to a maximum of 60 minutes
  • Martin Adler Prize
    The Martin Adler Prize honours a local freelance journalist or field producer working in any medium whose work with international media outlets has made a significant contribution to newsgathering, either through a single story or body of work. The aim of the prize is to highlight the dedication and talent of local freelancers who often work under challenging and difficult circumstances within their own country, and who go largely unrecognised.
  • Entries must have been first broadcast between 1 June 2019 and 31 July 2020 inclusive.
  • The Awards welcome self-funded work and entries from freelancers living and working in regions where it may be difficult to operate.
  • There are no entry fees and all finalists and winners receive a cash prize.

Deadline for submissions: Monday 10th August 2020