روهيني موهان

مقرها في الهند
رشح من قبل فايس نيوز

تفاصيل الدخول.

"كانت روهيني أول صحفية تنشر مشروعاً كبيراً حول تداعيات سجل المواطنين في وسائل الإعلام الدولية، وكانت الصحفية الوحيدة التي حققت في المحاكم التي تم إرسال هؤلاء الأشخاص إليها. كما كانت أول مراسلة تحصل على بيانات من المحاكم. وكانت النتيجة نظرة مفجعة إلى أزمة إنسانية غير مسبوقة أحدثتها حكومة قومية ومكراهية للأجانب على نحو متزايد. كانت هذه قصة صعبة للغاية لمتابعة. بعد نشر القصة، تم استهداف روهيني نتيجة لتقاريرها الجريئة".

-VICE الأخبار

اقرأ بعض أعمال روهيني:

السيره الذاتيه

روهيني موهان صحفية هندية تكتب عن السياسة والبيئة وحقوق الإنسان في جنوب آسيا. وقد كتبت لعدة منشورات هندية ودولية بما في ذلك فايس نيوز، تايم، هاربر، الجزيرة، نيويورك تايمز، التايمز الاقتصادية، تيهلكا، القافلة، الهندوسية، التوقعات، السلك، Scroll.in.

 في عام 2019، كتب روهيني رواية مُبلغ عنها بعمق حول سلسلة الزهاء السياسي والقانوني التي أعقبت إحدى الحالات الأولى في الهند من الغوغاء الهندوس الذين أعدوا قتل رجل مسلم بزعم أكله لحم البقر. المقال، الذي نشر في هاربر، كان في التصفيات النهائية في جائزة القصة الحقيقية. في 16 عاما كصحفي يقوم بقصص المجلات وتقارير الصحف اليومية ومقاطع الفيديو، قدم روهيني تقارير عن الصراعات العرقية في الهند، والهجمات على المدنيين الكشميريين، وتشريد المجتمعات القبلية حيث يتم تدمير الغابات لتعدين الفحم، والوفيات الناجمة عن المجاعة التي تنمو مع تزايد عدم المساواة في الدخل، والعاملات في مركز صناعة الملابس في بنغالور، وتأثير تغير المناخ على الزراعة.

روهيني هو أيضا مؤلف الحائز على جائزة مواسم المتاعب، وهو حساب غير روائي من ثلاثة أشخاص المحاصرين في أعقاب الصراع العرقي في سري لانكا. وعلى مدى أكثر من خمس سنوات من المراحل الأخيرة من الحرب الأهلية، أفادت بأنها متخفية في المناطق التي مزقتها الحرب، حيث أجرت مقابلات مع الأسر المتضررة. وقد وصفها جون لي أندرسون من نيويوركر بأنها "فاتنة ولا تنسى". أدرج Slate وNPR الكتاب في أفضل ما في عام 2014 ، ووصفه الأخير بأنه "إنجاز مذهل من الريبورتاج".

قراءة كونور دين واليكسندر بورنل الشخصي على Rohini هنا.

تعليقات القضاة.

"الهند هي مكان صعب بشكل متزايد للعمل مع الصحفيين الذين يتعرضون لجميع أنواع الضغوط التي لا نراها عادة. حقيقة أن روهيني كان لديه المثابرة والمؤسسة للذهاب بشكل منهجي من خلال المحاكم والحصول على كل تلك المعلومات هو شيء من الصعب بشكل لا يصدق القيام به. كانت لديها تلك الرؤية، تمسكت بها وسلمتها - قصة تُقال بشكل جيد حقاً".

لجنة تحكيم جائزة مارتن أدلر

Rohini Mohan

Based in India
Nominated by VICE News

Entry details.

“Rohini was the first journalist to publish a major project on the fallout of the citizens’ registry in international media, and she was the only journalist to investigate the tribunals these people have been sent to. She was also the first reporter to acquire data from the courts. The result was a heartbreaking look at an unprecedented humanitarian crisis wrought by an increasingly nationalist and xenophobic government. This was an extremely difficult story to pursue. After the story was published, Rohini was targeted as a result of her fearless reporting.”

-VICE News

Read some of Rohini’s work:

Biography

Rohini Mohan is an Indian journalist who writes on politics, environment and human rights in South Asia. She has written for several Indian and international publications including VICE News, TIME, Harper’s, Al Jazeera, The New York Times, The Economic Times, Tehelka, The Caravan, The Hindu, Outlook, The Wire, and Scroll.in.

 In 2019, Rohini wrote a deeply reported narrative on the chain of political and legal chicanery that followed one of India’s first instances of a Hindu mob lynching a Muslim man for allegedly eating beef. The article, published in Harper’s, was a finalist in The True Story Award. In 16 years as a journalist doing magazine stories, daily newspaper reports and videos, Rohini has reported on ethnic conflicts in India, pellet attacks on Kashmiri civilians, displacement of tribal communities as forests are razed for coal mining, starvation deaths that grow with increasing income inequality, women workers in Bangalore’s garment manufacturing hub, and the effect of climate change on agriculture.

Rohini is also the author of the award-winning The Seasons of Trouble, a nonfiction account of three people caught up in the aftermath of the ethnic conflict in Sri Lanka. For over five years from the last stages of the civil war, she reported undercover in war-torn areas, interviewing affected families. New Yorker’s Jon Lee Anderson called it “breathtaking and unforgettable.” Slate and NPR listed the book in its Best of 2014, and the latter called it “an astonishing feat of reportage.”

Judges comments.

“India is an increasingly tough place to work for journalists who come under all sorts of pressures that we don’t normally see. The fact that Rohini had the tenacity and the enterprise to methodically go through the tribunals and obtain all that information is an incredibly difficult thing to do. She had that vision, she stuck with it and she delivered – a story really well told.”

Martin Adler Prize Jury