Rory Peck Awards

Established in 1995, the Rory Peck Awards aim to give freelance journalists the ​​recognition they deserve, rewarding the most outstanding work​ produced each year and highlighting the significant contribution by freelancers to the international media industry.

Latest news desktop
Here to help

About the Awards.

For 25 years, the Rory Peck Awards has been celebrating the work of freelance journalists working in news and current affairs worldwide. These are the freelance reporters, filmmakers, photojournalists and camera operators who play a vital role in international newsgathering – and in keeping independent journalism alive.

The Awards are now open for entries, with an entry deadline of Monday 10th August. See the full entry criteria and descriptions of the Award categories here.

Can I submit my work to the Rory Peck Awards?

The Rory Peck Awards are for professional freelance journalists working anywhere in the world. Our four categories focus on international news and current affairs, with one category dedicated specifically to local journalists and field producers. Any work submitted must have been broadcast in the past year.

Why should I enter the Rory Peck Awards?

Being selected as an Awards finalist will give your work additional exposure to international media outlets and top industry professionals. You will attend the Awards ceremony in London, where you will have the opportunity to meet valuable industry contacts and take part in networking events. You will gain international recognition for your work at one of the world’s most established and respected Awards for freelancers – as well as a cash prize.

Awards Sponsors.

With thanks to our committed sponsors, without whom the Awards would not be possible.