Categories & Criteria

Read below for details on the categories and criteria of the 2022 Rory Peck Awards.

Can I submit my work to the Awards?

The Rory Peck Awards are for professional freelance journalists and filmmakers working anywhere in the world. Our four categories focus on international news and current affairs, with one category dedicated to local journalists and field producers. Any work submitted must have been broadcast or published within the past year.

Why should I enter the Awards?

Awards finalists have the opportunity to be internationally recognised by top media outlets and industry professionals. You will attend the Awards ceremony in London, with the chance to meet valuable industry contacts, and win a cash prize of £1000. The Rory Peck Awards are one of the world’s most established and respected journalism Awards.


ENTRY DEADLINE: 31st July (11.59pm)

See the terms and conditions of entry here.

If you have any questions about the entry process, please contact the Awards team.

News Award, sponsored by Google News Initiative

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in the video coverage of a news event where the focus is on the immediacy of the story.

Duration: up to 10 minutes
*Agency feeds are accepted in this category. Portfolio submissions & camera rushes are not.

News Features Award

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in video news features that take a more in-depth look at a story, beyond the immediacy of the news.

Duration: up to 30 minutes

Sony Impact Award for Current Affairs, sponsored by Sony Europe B.V.

This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists working in long-form current affairs video/film that examines a single issue, story or situation and has an impact on the viewer, policy or public awareness.

Duration: up to 60 minutes

Martin Adler Prize, supported by the Embassy of Sweden

This Award honours a local freelance journalist or field producer working in any medium, whose work with international media outlets has made a significant contribution to newsgathering, either through a single story or body of work. The aim of the prize is to highlight the dedication and talent of local freelancers who often work under challenging and difficult circumstances within their own country, and who go largely unrecognised. You may list up to a maximum of three examples of work for the entry.
*The Martin Adler Prize is a unique chance to give global recognition to someone you have commissioned, admired, worked with or relied upon. You cannot nominate or enter yourself for this category.

Am I eligible to enter?

  • Only work by freelance journalists or filmmakers* is eligible for entry.
  • Entries must have been first broadcast/published between 1 August 2021 and 1 August 2022 inclusive.
  • All entries must be submitted and titled as first broadcast/published.
  • All entries must have been broadcast/published by a recognised media outlet.
  • Re-versions of previously submitted entries will not be accepted.
  • You cannot submit the same entry into more than one category.
*For the purposes of the Rory Peck Awards, the term “freelance” is defined as someone who gathers, generates, produces and/or reports stories, images and footage for professional news and current affairs platforms. These may include directors/producers/reporters, as well as camera operators and videographers. He/she will not have a permanent or rolling contract or salary, but may be on a retainer with one or more organisations, work to commission or be paid by the piece. This includes those who may supplement their income by other means.

How do I enter the Awards?

  1. Complete the online entry form – Entries opening soon
    You must fully complete and submit your entry form online.
  2. Upload digital files
    Your entry must be submitted as broadcast/published and uploaded with your entry form as a high-resolution digital file. The preferred format for film and video is is .MOV H264 (1920 x 1080), without timecodes. The file should be clearly titled with the name of the entrant and entry title.
  3. Submit any supporting materials
    Entries not in English must be accompanied by a detailed and accurate storyline and translation, uploaded to the online entry form.
  4. Pay the entry fee
    Each entry costs £25. Entrants may submit any number of entries into any number of categories, but a separate online entry form and entry fee will be required for each. All proceeds from the Rory Peck Awards contribute to the running costs of the trust and its charitable grants.

Entry fee waiver
To encourage equal opportunities, a limited number of entry fee waivers are available for those who cannot afford the fee. If you would like to apply for the entry fee waiver, please fill in this form


With thanks to our committed sponsors, without whom the Awards would not be possible.